Monday, August 10, 2009

Myer Becomes Third Different Sheckler Memorial Race Winner

Knoxville, IL (August 6, 2009) - The United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS) returned to the Knox County Fair in Knoxville, IL for there 10th annual stop, but it was the third year that the race has honored Ed Sheckler. Ed passed away in December of 2006 after his battle with cancer and was very important in making this event the success it is today. Tommy Myer would become the third different winner in the three years of being named the Ed Sheckler Memorial Race.
The Mod Lites would be the first feature to take to the big half-mile, with Dan Guss and Bobby Fox drawing the front row for the event. Guss would take advantage of his front row starting spot to jump out into the lead on lap 1. Guss would hold the top spot until lap 4 when David Raffurty, who started 7th, slipped under him for the lead. The yellow would come out on lap 6, when Rob Guss spun to a stop in turn two. On the restart Raffurty once again moved out into the lead, but now had Jason Masengarb, who started 9th, close behind in second. Raffurty and Masengarb would battle side-by-side for the lead on lap 7 and 8, when the two got together on the back stretch with Raffurty rolling and bringing out the red. Both drivers were ok, but done for the event. Greg Rossell would inherit the lead and then led the final 4 laps to claim the win. Jeff Miller came from 6th to finish in second, Michael Raffurty was third, Dan Guss was fourth, with Rob Guss recovering from his spin to finish in fifth.
Greg Rossell of Knoxville, IL won the Mod Lite feature during the Knox County Fair in Knoxville, IL on Thursday, August 6, 2009. Photo by Mike Ruefer.

Kelly Shryock of Fertile, IA and Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie, MN battle for the lead early in the 30 lap USMTS feature, with Myer eventually going on for th win. Photo by Mike Ruefer.

Kelly Shryock and Tommy Myer drew the front row for the 30 lap USMTS, with the caution coming out for a non start. On the restart Shryock would jump out into the lead, with Myer close behind. Shryock only led two laps, as Myer jumped to his outside to take over the top spot on lap 3. Myer was pulling away from the field, when he started to enter lapped traffic on lap 10. Dean Mahlstedt, who started 10th, was up to second quickly and was closing in on Myer when the final caution came out on lap 12 for debris in two. Once again Myer moved out into the lead on the restart, with Shryock and Mahlstedt battling for second. Myer would go on to lead the final 18 laps to pick up the win. Shryock won the battle for second, Mahlstedt was third, Ryan Gustin was fourth, with Zack VanderBeek coming from 14th to round out the top five.

Tommy Myer celebrates in victory lane after winning the Ed Sheckler Memorial Sunoco “A” Main during the 10th Annual UPS Store Illinois Challenge at the Knox County Fairgrounds in Knoxville, IL, on Thursday, August 6, 2009. From left to right: Chris Sheckler, Myer, flagman Ryne Staley and Cody Miyler from The UPS Store in Galesburg, IL. Photo by Mike Ruefer.

Notes from Knoxville: Dan Vincent took a hard roll in his Mod Lite heat, as his car went straight into the guardrail in turn one causing it to roll. He walked away ok, but was done for the night......VanderBeek was running 11th on the final restart and quickly jumped to the bottom of the speedway to work his way to a fifth place finish. His run also earned him the hard charger award for the race....Michael Long took the restart in 14th and took the same approach as Vanderbeek to take home a 8th place finish....Darin Thye would pull in on the caution with over heating problems and no brakes. He was running fifth at the time.

No comments:

Post a Comment